The Fault In Our Stars

The Peanut Butter Fingers book club choice in March was The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. It is the story of Hazel, a 16-year old living with a terminal form of cancer. It’s a story of struggle and tragedy but also strength and love. Hazel meets Augustus at a cancer support group and they develop a once in a lifetime kind of relationship that many people spend their whole life looking for.

Now I don’t want to ruin this book for anyone that may not have read it yet so I won’t say anything else about the plot but I will tell you that I really enjoyed it. I loved the way that Green took a young girl’s story that is so sad but added pieces of laughter and love. He made the characters seem real and tried to make the reader get a clear understanding of what life was like for them. I think there are pieces of this book that everyone can relate to especially if  someone close to you has battled/is battling cancer (or other serious illnesses).

The Fault in Our Stars book jacket

I’ve also been participating in a book club at my office and  through that I found out about a website to help me keep track of the books I want to read and books I’ve read GoodReads.com is a great place to make lists of books that interest you and read reviews from other people. The site will even make recommendations for you based on the type(s) of books you say you like to read and the reviews you give other books. I would highly recommend joining the site if you enjoy reading even a little bit. Feel free to connect with me (jlaake) as well – I’m always looking for new ideas on what to read and love seeing what other people enjoy.

Happy reading!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars | Peanut Butter Fingers

  2. Pingback: Power Life Yoga | pieces of jess

Leave a Reply

