Uncategorized

Gone But Never Forgotten

We hear about soldiers being killed on the news more often than we should but it never really hit me until it was someone I knew. I went to high school with Cpl. Bryant “BJ” Luxmore who was killed last week in Afghanistan. It is a very sad, strange feeling knowing that someone I personally knew died fighting for my freedom. I don’t know if words can ever express how thankful I am for his sacrifice, saddened I am for his family’s loss and how honored I am to have known him. He and his family are in my prayers.

I wanted to share a few photos, articles and videos that have come out in the past couple days. The community has really come together to show their support and gratitude to BJ and his family. I was at my parents’ house this weekend so I was able to see the motorcade as it transported BJ’s body from the airport in Moline out to Aledo. It was one of the most moving things I’d ever seen. I have never been more proud to be where I’m from.

This story was done by another one of our SHS classmates: http://www.kwqc.com/global/video/popup/pop_playerLaunch.asp?vt1=v&clipFormat=flv&clipId1=7410451&at1=News&h1=A Hero’s Homecoming In Mercer County&flvUri=&partnerclipid=

http://wqad.com/2012/06/15/services-planned-for-new-windsor-soldier/#ooid=9waGczNToDeOH0J9-T1slERT1xjecbgk

http://qconline.com/archives/qco/display.php?id=596574

http://www.pjstar.com/news/x69093622/Fallen-soldier-would-be-overwhelmed-if-he-saw-all-this

Honor guard leading the motorcade
Just a few of the many patriot guard bikes leading the motorcade through Orion
BJ coming through Orion
BJ coming through Orion.
Flags in front of SHS
Just a few of the flags in front of Sherrard High School today.

Rest in peace BJ

1 thought on “Gone But Never Forgotten”

Leave a Reply

