eating out, Food

Adventure Eating!

I am not the most adventurous eater around (not even close), but I got this crazy idea last week that I want to start trying new things. One large group of food that I don’t eat is seafood. That includes any kind of fish, crab, shrimp, etc. I always hear about how people love seafood or sushi or whatever else and I just have never found a taste for it, but I think now is the time to try! Bianca (a girl I work with) and I decided to go to Red Lobster last week to kick off my new adventure eating.

Bianca eating crab legs
Bianca had crab legs for lunch so she got a stylin’ bib

Bianca really likes seafood so she helped me decide on a few items I should try to start with. A couple of those were crab (which I tried I bite of her crab legs) and shrimp. I ordered a garlic shrimp scampi and chicken meal (that way I would have something to eat if I didn’t like the shrimp! 🙂 ).

shrimp scampi and chicken from red lobster
My lunch 🙂

I thought the crab was OK but the consistency of the shrimp was a little weird for me. I think it just has to do with the way it was prepared. I ended up eating three of them which I think was a huge step! I’ll definitely have to try them again sometime, just maybe made a little differently. I’d say that lunch was a success – I’m not saying I’ll never eat shrimp again so I’ll call it a win! I think next up is some tilapia. I’ve read that it’s a good fish for people who don’t like fish. Wish me luck!

What’s your favorite type of fish/seafood to eat?

1 thought on “Adventure Eating!”

  1. I’m so proud/excited that you tried seafood!! We’ll have to go to Miyabi 9 sometime for sushi…I swore I never liked sushi or fish (I’ve always liked shrimp though) and Miyabi 9 is the best.

Leave a Reply

