everyday life, Food

RumChata Cupcakes

It’s was my mom’s birthday yesterday and she was in town this weekend so I decided to make her a treat for her special day – RumChata Cupcakes!! Before we get to that though let’s cover a few other things from the weekend. Mom, Grandpa and I went to the Iowa State Fair on Saturday. We saw some of the staples (butter cow!), ate some delicious fair food and watched Chris’ band, Sanctified, perform on the bud stage. We had a great time and the band put on a wonderful show. I can’t believe the fair ended yesterday. It always makes me feel like summer is over 😦 but I am excited for fall! 🙂

fun at the fair

pickle dawg at iowa state fair
Mom got the new pickle dawn (pickle with cream cheese wrapped in ham and deep-fried)

Sanctified

Now back to what you are waiting for…RumChata Cupcakes

RumChata Cupcakes


My mom actually introduced me to RumChata and my sister found a recipe for RumChata cupcakes (originally found here) on Pinterest. If you haven’t had any yet, RumChata tastes like cinnamon toast crunch and is delicious in root beer. When Stacy sent me this recipe I knew I had to try them. They turned out great and I think I’m going to make them again for Girls Night in Vermillion next month.

Ingredients – cupcakes
1/2 cup (1 stick ) butter (at room temp)
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup RumChata
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
4 egg whites

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Combine sugar & butter and beat until fluffy. Mix together flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon, set aside. Mix the RumChata and vanilla together, set aside. Alternating, add in the flour mixture and RumChata mixture in to the butter and sugar – start and end with the flour mixture. In another clean mixing bowl, beat egg whites until soft peaks form (I’d recommend using an electric mixer). Fold egg whites in to the batter using a spatula. Fill cupcake liners. Bake for 18 minutes (original recipe says 20 but 18 worked for me). Recipe yields 24 cupcakes.

Ingredients – frosting
12 oz. (1 1/2 packages) of cream cheese (at room temp)
1/2 cup (1 stick )butter (at room temp)
1/2 tsp vanilla
4-5 tbsp of RumChata (I used 5 but you can use 4 depending on the consistency you’re looking for)
1 package (2 lb bag) of confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
Combine butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add vanilla. Slowly mix in powered sugar. Mix in RumChata. Frost the cupcakes.

*This recipe makes a lot of frosting so I’ll probably cut it in half the next time I make them. I froze my extra frosting to use later, like the original recipe mentioned I could do. (I’m going to try it on some graham crackers! 🙂 )

rumchata cupcakes
Happy Birthday Mom!!
Leave a Reply

