biking, pets

Frosty Paws

This weekend my mom and my little sister, Stacy, came to town. It was so nice to see them, I love it when we have family come stay at the house 🙂

Mom, Chris and I road in the Big Creek Fall Bike Ride on Saturday. Of course it happened to be the coldest day we’ve had all year which made the morning ride quite unpleasant. I made it about 10 miles before I decided that I wasn’t having any fun but mom and Chris made it the whole 40 miles (nice job you guys!!). I felt bad not going the whole way but it just wasn’t any fun and I think if I’m not having fun what’s the point, right?!

We also watched a lot of football this weekend, including the bears game Sunday afternoon (DA BEARS!!)

Frosty Paws

While we were all hanging around the house Saturday night, I made some treats for Calie. Frosty Paws are super easy to make (I first found them here) and Calie seems to LOVE them.

Ingredients: 
32 oz. of plain yogurt
1 ripe banana (mashed) 
2 tbsp of honey
2 tbsp of peanut butter

frosty paw ingredients in a mixing bowl
Ready to mix

Just put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix until well blended. Then pour into a mold and freeze. Ice cube trays, eggs cartons and small cups will all work for this. Once solid, warm for a few seconds in hot water or the microwave to pop them out of the mold. Store in a bag in the freezer.

I found the egg carton pieces a little too big for Calie (she made a bit of a mess when trying to eat them). I had talked to Gabby about this after I made them the first time and she is so nice that she got me these awesome molds from Ikea when she was there last month!

fish and starfish shaped ice cube trays
Thanks Gabby!!

With the smaller molds, I now have a ton a treats for Calie and had some fun making them. Next time, I’m going to try some different flavors of yogurt (maybe blueberry) to see if she likes it.

frozen dog treat
The finished product!


Do you make any homemade treats for your pets?
What’s their favorite kind of treat? 

Leave a Reply

