wedding

Let the countdown begin!

OK, let’s be honest for a second – the countdown started January 1, the day we set our wedding date 🙂

Since I haven’t blogged much I haven’t had a chance to share the news – Chris and I are engaged!! (Which you obviously figured out from my first statement but it’s so much fun to say!) He asked me to marry him a few days before Christmas which was perfect because we got to spend the next week celebrating with our families over the holidays.

Jess & Chris Selfie
Chris and I on our 4th Anniversary (5.31.14)
Of course I went right into planning mode 🙂 This was mainly because we knew we wanted a very unique venue and places were already booking up into this year and next. We were able to put down a deposit and book our wedding date on the perfect venue just a couple of weeks after getting engaged. We had a bit of a lull in planning for a few months but things are picking up again and moving full steam ahead.

Over the past month we’ve crossed so big items off of our planning list and I am feeling SO much better about everything. I’ve definitely been stressed out lately with wedding planning, starting a new job and house hunting, so it’s a relief to feel like progress is being made. Here are a things we have taken care of so far for the wedding:

Ceremony & Reception Venue (Barnes’ Place)
Photographer
Wedding colors
Wedding party is set (still need to talk to out Flower girl and decide what to do for ushers)
Caterer (still need to set the menu but they are booked)
Wedding dress!! 🙂
Bridesmaids dresses

I was able to have my mom, Chris’ mom, Stacy and my bridesmaid/best friend, Kara, all in town to go dress shopping this last weekend. We were able to find the perfect gown for me as well as dresses for Stacy and Kara. I’ll do a separate post about that experience soon.

Chris' mom, my mom, Stacy, me and Kara
After I said “Yes” to my dress!
I know it may not look like much but things are definitely coming together. Next on my list: invitations, DJ and florist.

If you have any wedding planning tips, I’m all ears!

PS – 296 days until we say I DO!!

2 thoughts on “Let the countdown begin!”

Leave a Reply

