wedding

Another Wedding Wednesday

So here we are, 51 days until THE day and I feel like there is still so much to do! At the same time, I feel like things are coming together nicely. 🙂

On Valentine’s Day, Chris and I drove to the venue for one of their open house events. We were able to sit down with one of the staff members and get some questions answered as well as see some of the new items they’ve added to their inventory of decorations. They had some vendors there so we also got to visit with our florist and caterer. Our caterer had some samples set out so Chris was finally able to try some of their food (he didn’t come out to the other open house I attended that they were at) which is always DELICIOUS! It had been quite a while since I had been out to the venue but it reminded me how much I love it and made me so excited again to spend our special day there.

We did run into a minor issue recently with our rehearsal dinner location. And by minor I mean I went into full  panic mode in the middle of the work day when I found news story that the restaurant that we had booked was CLOSING a month BEFORE our wedding!! After freaking out for a little bit I frantically started emailing some other places. While we were in Des Moines on v-day, we stopped at a couple of places to see the space we could reserve and I think we found an option that we’ll both be happy with. Crisis averted!!

Now to the to-do list!

Wedding checklist – completed: 
Ceremony & Reception Venue
Booked photographer
Wedding colors
Wedding party is set
Caterer – menu is set!
Wedding dress – first fitting is done!
Bridesmaids dresses
Decided on my somethings old, new, borrowed and blue!
Picked out suits and ties for Chris, my dad and the groomsmen (Still need to pick out shoes)
Booked DJ
Booked videographer
Booked florist – flowers finalized
Save the dates sent
Invites ordered – should be going out this week!
Hotel block set up
Rehearsal dinner – need to finalize details with the NEW venue
MoB and MoG dresses purchased
Ring bearer found a suit
Flower girl dress ordered
Make-up and hair trials scheduled
Got our wedding bands!!

To-do (at least my next set of to-do’s):
Find shuttle vendor
Do second fitting on my gown
Pick out gifts for the wedding party and parents
Find outfits for my showers and bachelorette party!
Pick out favors
Finish welcome bags

I LOVE seeing that completed list growing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

